## **PUBLIC NOTICE**

## **Dickens County Indigent Health Care Eligibility Standards**

Dickens County will continue to use the following procedures to comply with its state mandated responsibility under the Indigent Health Care Treatment Act.

## **Effective September 1, 2022**

An application form can be obtained from the Dickens County Indigent Health Care Office located at 508 Crow, Dickens, Texas. Assistance in completing the application will be provided upon request. Dickens County will use rules and procedures found in the County Indigent Health Care Handbook, published by the Texas Department of State Health Services. In summary, the rules are as follows:

- 1. The application form must be completed in its entirety.
- 2. Verification of income, termination of income, residence, household composition, and resources are required information.
- 3. Net income is calculated utilizing a gross monthly screening table located in the County Indigent Health Care Program Manual.
- 4. Liquid resource assets cannot exceed \$2,000.00 or \$3,000.00 if the residence contains a relative who is aged or disabled. The equity value of an automobile cannot be greater than \$4,650.00. Personal property and homesteads are exempt assets.
- 5. Eligible persons must be residents of Dickens County and must intend to stay.
- 6. Applicants must provide all information and documentation requested or applications will be denied.
- 7. Applicants will be required to provide proof of application for SSI.
- 8. Applicants have the right to appeal adverse decisions.

Dickens County will only accept and pay the standard payment rate (approximately Medicaid rates) as determined by the Texas Department of State Health Services. Dickens County will pay inpatient medical bills by the DRG (Diagnosis Related Group) method rate until further notice.